Personal Branding

Personal Branding blog picture

Just because everyone is starting to use social media and the internet is growing exponentially doesn’t necessarily mean it’s as easy as setting up social media accounts to personally brand yourself. Granted, you do need to be everywhere on a continuous basis according to Dan Schawbel, in his blog post titled, “How to Become a Personal Branding Expert,” he also says there are few other criteria that can help take your business to the next level.

You first need to build your own brand ~ This makes sense to me because I’m an Independent Scentsy Consultant and I’ve realized that I am my own billboard  and advertising campaign, etc. Although I represent Scentsy, I am more so building a brand for myself as a consultant. I need to master my own business and I’m slowly learning how to create engagement on my social media accounts, which is another criteria Dan mentions in his blog. It’s important to establish credibility and educate your customer ~ I want my customers to know that I’m knowledgeable about what I do because it makes them feel more comfortable about buying products, hosting parties, or joining my team.

Another thing Dan talks about in his blog regarding personal branding involves the ability to sell yourself. His blog post, “Success Is Determined By Your Ability To Sell Yourself,” brings up the fact that effective sales skills are important to your career because you will always be fighting competition and these skills help you stand out. He also brings up the importance of building strong relationships with customers; if you already have a relationship, it’s much easier and you don’t have to sell yourself as much or maybe even at all.

I only mentioned two of Dan’s blog posts regarding the topic of personal branding, but there is a whole wealth of information on his website. I definitely will keep checking back for updates! 🙂

~Hailey

Here are the links to the articles I referenced:

http://danschawbel.com/blog/how-to-become-a-personal-branding-expert/

http://danschawbel.com/blog/success-is-determined-by-your-ability-to-sell-yourself/

Leave a comment